Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Catalog Number 1987.3.0134
Title [Reel-to-reel tape recorded by Louis Armstrong]
Object Type Tape
Collection Louis Armstrong Collection
Description Scope: Recordings of sound recordings. Originally cataloged in "Tape Catalog #1" (see Manuscripts, 1987.2.22).

Contents (as on compact disc reference copy):

Tracks 1-8: Recording of the sound recording "The Pride and the Passion" (continued from 2003.197.15): Track : "The Juana's Love"; Track 2: "The Rescue of the Gun"; Track 3: "The Juana's Choice"; Track 4: "The Pride and the Passion (Bolero)"; Track 5: "The Miguel's (Theme)"; Track 6: "The Procession"; Track 7: "The Fulfillment and End Title." Track 8: Louis comments about the previous selections ("A masterpiece if there ever was one") and introduces his next album, "Pal Joey" ("A livin' aspirin, also"); Track s 9-23: Recording of sound recording "Pal Joey": "Main Title"; Track 10: "That Terrific Rainbow"; Track 11: "I Didn't Know What Time it Was"; Track 12: "Do It the Hard Way"; Track 13: "Great Big Town"; Track 14: "There's a Small Hotel"; Track 15: "Zip"; Track 16: "I Could Write a Book"; Track 17: "Bewitched (Bothered and Bewildered)"; Track 18: "The Lady is a Tramp"; Track 19: "Plant You Now, Dig You Later"; Track 20: "My Funny Valentine"; Track 21: "You Musn't Kick it Around"; Track 22: "Bewitched"; Track 23: "Strip Number"; Disc 2, Track 1: "Dream Sequence and Finale" ("Pal Joey" soundtrack concluded). Track 2; Louis comments on the recording and singles out Harry Edison's trumpet behind Sinatra and how the band was "wailin'"; thanks Vernon Black for the recordings. Recordings of sound recordings: Track 3: "Fat and Forty"(Al Hibbler); Track 4: "My Little Brown Book (Al Hibbler); Track 5: "I Had a Good Cry" (Erskine Hawkins with Laura Washington); Track 6: "Hawk's Boogie" (Erskine Hawkins); Track 7: "Time On My Hands" (Count Basie); Track 8: "For the Good of Your Country" (Count Basie); Track 9: "Bensonality" (Duke Ellington); Track 10: "Blues at Sundown" (Duke Ellington); Track 11: "Some Beautiful Morning I'll Find You in My Arms" (Al Jolson); Track 12: "Profiteering Blues" (Frank Crumit); Track 13: "They Called it Dixieland" (James Harrison and James Reed); Track 14: "Down Where the Swanee River Flows" (Al Jolson); Track 15: "Tackin' Em Down" (Van and Schenck); Track 16: "Ole Miss" (Louis Armstrong) (encore only); Track 17: "My Old Kentucky Home" (Van and Schenck); Track 18: "Oh How I Laughed" (Van and Schenck); Track 19: "Snoops the Lawyer" (Nora Bayes); Track 20: "Mosquito Trust" (Van and Schenck); Track 21: "Heine at College" (Smith and Dale); Track 22: "Poor Little Me" (Marion Harris) (incomplete).
People Basie, Count
Ellington, Duke
Hawkins, Erskine
Hibbler, Al
Jolson, Al
Sinatra, Frank
Year Range from 1958
Year Range to 1960
Creator Louis Armstrong
Caption 1987.3.134 Front
Accession number 1987.3